Friday, November 20, 2009

It's that time again

Ladies,

We are about to approach the dangerous Thanksgiving to Christmas/Birthday zone. I think that I am going to need to refer to this blog more regularly as a support mechanism for my fat ass. If I am not carefuly, I will most likely gain 15 pounds. Watching the Biggest Loser is usually a source of inspiration and support. This time around it is just depressing. A few of these ladies are the same weight I am! ARGH!!

To be continued......

XO, FLO

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Running One Mile At A Time

Ladies,
We need to friggin' step it up! It is April and the last time we checked in was FEBRUARY. To bring ya'll up to speed.... the breakup diet didn't work for me this time around. I think it was cause I was actually more in a celebratory mode then "I am so upset I can't eat" mode. Grrrr....

On another note though, I finally joined City Fitness and Arin and I have been going pretty regularly. I have also found the runners zone! After many years of it eluding me I finally found it and embraced it with my loving arms. In fact, I have been working the treadmill for the past 4 consecutive days clocking in 7.25 miles total. My regime is basically doing 2 miles no matter how long it takes me but not taking any longer than 15 minutes a mile. With the goal that to shave my time off more and more. I have only run a full mile with no walking once. Typically I will walk a lap, run two, walk one...and sometimes throw in some incline.

Eating and drinking on the other hand has been something that I do need to work on. I had high hopes when I started April as I had planned to do "Anti-Fat Girl Month" which is a month of no drinking that me and some of my other girls try to do every April. I can never make it a month, but I would like to think that is something that I am working towards. I made it six days this go around.

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Ok, for real this time...

Ok, so I here I go again, going to try once again to get motivated to get back into shape. I think the promise of spring will def help; this winter has been hard. I am starting the weight watchers eating plan today, I have all the tools at home so I am going to go for it without the actual membership. I haven't stepped on scale yet, will do that later, I am sure it will hurt a bit, but I vow to use that as motivation, not punishment. This time around I am going to try see all of this as positives and "want to's" instead of "have to's".

My lifetime goal is to lose 35lbs; towards that goal I will lose 10lbs by April 1st. No foolin'

Friday, February 6, 2009

Fatty Fat Fat

Ladies - it has been almost two months since we have last posted on this glorious blog. It must be resurrected as spring is almost here - if only in our hearts!

Monday, December 15, 2008

Tis the Season for Overeating

Okay, not really a newsflash, but the weekends are so hard; especially the weekends leading up to the holidays. I went to 2 holiday party this weekends and I def didn't do so great with the eating; I can't resist finger food it's so teeny and delicious.

Here goes my confession; on Friday I went and did some holiday & grocery shopping and by the time I got home I was starving and baked a frozen pizza. It was 10:30pm; not so good. It was a single serving pizza, but I still ate it all and then went to bed. Should have eaten dinner out at a reasonable hour.

On Saturday I started out good with cereal & bananas with soy milk and I walked to City Hall to do some shopping at Christmas Village and then walked back home. Got some good exercise in; which was good. I did have a hot cocoa- with a little whip cream. I had a turkey sandwich for a late lunch and then went to holiday party where I ate at least one of everything, including homemade marshmallows ( I had at least 2 of those) and had 2 glasses of wine and 2 beers.

On Sunday I started with a good veggie / egg white omelet and ww toast. I then went to another holiday party and had a slice of pizza, a handle of cookies, and several diff kinds of dip; one of which was beer & cheese - yum.

Beginning with a clean slate today; had oatmeal for breakfast and packed a nice salad w / tuna fish for lunch. I think its easier to eat healthy during the week and stay focused and indulge a bit more in the weekend. I just may have to be okay for that and work harder during the week.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Checking In!

So, I tried emailing my post yesterday with no luck. Well, I was trying to send an email from my blackberry using my gmail account to the skinny blog. I am already confused. I was going to let technology decide whether or not I would confess my carrot cake sins but since it didn't go through I thought that I would confess away. Pew had it's holiday luncheon on Thursday. I tried to be good - I did stay away from bread - but the carrot cake got me: on Thursday AND Friday. Other than thank, I am doing really well as far as food goes- wait, except for the pepperoni stromboli I ate last night for dinner (only ate a little bit though!). sigh. Been really trying to stick to the first phase of The Best Life Diet as prescribed by Mr. Bob Greene. Been diligent about eating breakfast and taking my vitamins. Trying to stop eating 2 hours before bed, cutting out the alcohol, and trying to ramp up my activity.

Went to the gym on Wednesday night and it seriously kicked my ass. I usually go to level 1/2 or 2/3 classes - this was a 3/4. Our trainer made us do these crazy exercises where you balance your neck, head and shoulders on a pilates ball with your legs and butt stabilizing and balancing you. With a weight bar your arms are extended to the ceiling and then you lower the weight above your head with the arms straight. Oh my god - my triceps hurt so bad that i was unable to go back to the gym on Thursday which was the only other day that I was going to be able to squeeze the gym in. Boo. Gotta try to get more exercise at home without the gym - since my gym is all classes and I can only got at certain times - it makes it really difficult to go when I want to go. This weekend I must do something active - it's just so hard when you don't have someone there to push you!!!

Friday, December 12, 2008

Weds, Thurs, and Fri - so far

So, my recaps... (at least what I can remember)

Weds, December 10th
I had two events on Weds. which can either be good for eating or terrible, all in all I think I did well. I had a low fat multigrain bagel with low fat cream cheese and strawberry jam and coffee for breakfast mtg, I had salad and white rice for lunch, and then at our afternoon event we had coldcuts, cheese, and veggies, so I snacked on those and brought some home and ate coldcuts and steamed veggies; quite good actually.

Thursday, Dec 11
I went to the doctors on Thurs to get tested for thyroid and pre-diabetes; which scares me a bit; I've been having some sluggish symptons and so my mom (a nurse) recommended I go and get some bloodwork done. I def hope its not diabetes. fingers crossed.

After the appt I had a cultural fund site visit, so I went to starbucks and had a coffee and reduced fat turkey bacon sandwich. John took out the marketing department for lunch and so while I didn't eat the healthiest things, I did a great job with portion control. Len and I split a pulled pork sandwich, mac and cheese, and string beans. I ate more string beans than french fries and only had 4 bites of the mac and cheese. I did have a hot chocolate with cool whip for dessert.

Needless to say I went to the gym. I did some strenght training, mostly squates and some curls then did my 30 minutes of cardio and burned 280 calories. I then went out to dinner and had 2 beers and a shepards pie, made with lamb. Not sure how healthy that was.

Friday, December 12th
The day of leftovers; no food at my house. I had a leftover bagel w/ low fat cream cheese and strawberry jelly for breakfast. I also had some coldcuts and veggies for lunch and the rest of my shepards pie for lunch. I have had some green tea and pretzels and am on my finally to the grocery store to get some healthy food in my house.