Monday, December 15, 2008
Tis the Season for Overeating
Here goes my confession; on Friday I went and did some holiday & grocery shopping and by the time I got home I was starving and baked a frozen pizza. It was 10:30pm; not so good. It was a single serving pizza, but I still ate it all and then went to bed. Should have eaten dinner out at a reasonable hour.
On Saturday I started out good with cereal & bananas with soy milk and I walked to City Hall to do some shopping at Christmas Village and then walked back home. Got some good exercise in; which was good. I did have a hot cocoa- with a little whip cream. I had a turkey sandwich for a late lunch and then went to holiday party where I ate at least one of everything, including homemade marshmallows ( I had at least 2 of those) and had 2 glasses of wine and 2 beers.
On Sunday I started with a good veggie / egg white omelet and ww toast. I then went to another holiday party and had a slice of pizza, a handle of cookies, and several diff kinds of dip; one of which was beer & cheese - yum.
Beginning with a clean slate today; had oatmeal for breakfast and packed a nice salad w / tuna fish for lunch. I think its easier to eat healthy during the week and stay focused and indulge a bit more in the weekend. I just may have to be okay for that and work harder during the week.
Saturday, December 13, 2008
Checking In!
Went to the gym on Wednesday night and it seriously kicked my ass. I usually go to level 1/2 or 2/3 classes - this was a 3/4. Our trainer made us do these crazy exercises where you balance your neck, head and shoulders on a pilates ball with your legs and butt stabilizing and balancing you. With a weight bar your arms are extended to the ceiling and then you lower the weight above your head with the arms straight. Oh my god - my triceps hurt so bad that i was unable to go back to the gym on Thursday which was the only other day that I was going to be able to squeeze the gym in. Boo. Gotta try to get more exercise at home without the gym - since my gym is all classes and I can only got at certain times - it makes it really difficult to go when I want to go. This weekend I must do something active - it's just so hard when you don't have someone there to push you!!!
Friday, December 12, 2008
Weds, Thurs, and Fri - so far
Weds, December 10th
I had two events on Weds. which can either be good for eating or terrible, all in all I think I did well. I had a low fat multigrain bagel with low fat cream cheese and strawberry jam and coffee for breakfast mtg, I had salad and white rice for lunch, and then at our afternoon event we had coldcuts, cheese, and veggies, so I snacked on those and brought some home and ate coldcuts and steamed veggies; quite good actually.
Thursday, Dec 11
I went to the doctors on Thurs to get tested for thyroid and pre-diabetes; which scares me a bit; I've been having some sluggish symptons and so my mom (a nurse) recommended I go and get some bloodwork done. I def hope its not diabetes. fingers crossed.
After the appt I had a cultural fund site visit, so I went to starbucks and had a coffee and reduced fat turkey bacon sandwich. John took out the marketing department for lunch and so while I didn't eat the healthiest things, I did a great job with portion control. Len and I split a pulled pork sandwich, mac and cheese, and string beans. I ate more string beans than french fries and only had 4 bites of the mac and cheese. I did have a hot chocolate with cool whip for dessert.
Needless to say I went to the gym. I did some strenght training, mostly squates and some curls then did my 30 minutes of cardio and burned 280 calories. I then went out to dinner and had 2 beers and a shepards pie, made with lamb. Not sure how healthy that was.
Friday, December 12th
The day of leftovers; no food at my house. I had a leftover bagel w/ low fat cream cheese and strawberry jelly for breakfast. I also had some coldcuts and veggies for lunch and the rest of my shepards pie for lunch. I have had some green tea and pretzels and am on my finally to the grocery store to get some healthy food in my house.
As of Tuesday I lost 4 pounds!!!!
Some co-workers were going out Tuesday around 7:00pm and I promised myself I would go to the gym and I did. It felt so good to keep a promise to myself. I left work at 5:00pm andsqueezed in a quick, but intense workout. I did cardio for 30 minutes and burned 275 calories. I read somewhere try to eat 250 calories less and move 250 calories more and thats a way to begin, so that's been my goal this week. moving towards at least 300 calories / per workout next week. Slow and steady.
I did pretty well out with cor-workers too; I had a salad with chicken for dinner and only had 2 beers. Others stayed later and kept drinking and I left and that also felt really good. Again, I felt like I chose me and that was nice. So all in all Tuesday was a good day.
Thursday, December 11, 2008
Reconsidering the Scale
In the spirit of Best Life Diet - my biggest struggle is breakfast - I usually don't eat it! I don't allow myself the time in the morning to wake up and make it. So, I have started to set my alarm clock earlier so that slowly but surely I won't be rushing out the door and I can have time to sit and eat. In the meantime, I have picked up some Slim Fast shakes to grab on the go. I am also working my ass off at the gym. Need to make it a priority to go 3 times a week and try to be active as much as possible on the off days!! Let's do it ladies!
Also, I propose we each make a workout mix CD that we can share. I will make one and give two copies to Arin (one for you Kendra) - unless we can figure out a way to see eachother soon!
Wednesday, December 10, 2008
Day 10. Does Assembling Ikea Furniture Count as a Workout?
Tuesday, December 9, 2008
Kendra's Update
Remember that whole idea about going to the gym in the mornings? Fat chance. I already gave up on that, its way too cold and dark to want to leave my apt at 6:45 am and before a cup of coffee. So, I will be going to gym tonight. I was invited for drinks afterwork with one of our developers for our website, so I will go and have a drink and then head home to the gym.
In terms of eating; I think I've been doing okay, mostly because I am so broke that I am only eating what I have in my house, which has been frozen tilapia, whole wheat cous cous, and some frozen veggies or salad. I haven't weighed myself yet, but will do so tonight and let you know if the dial has moved. Gosh, I hope so.
So far today I had a 1 egg and 1 egg white scrambled on whole wheat roll, coffee, and for lunch we had some leftover noodle dish with peanuts and cucumber from a work meeting; it was really good and felt rather light.
I posted this message by trying the new email feature that Arin sent. Fingers crossed.
Monday, December 8, 2008
Life on the Road
Been doing okay I think! Went to a great yoga studio last Wednesday. I even got some free passes so if you ladies want to check it out - let me know! I felt so great afterwards. Too bad I countered that experience with having a liquid dinner of three beers at the bar for my friends birthday. Sigh. Had to go to Bowling on Friday for work. I really made a concious effort to eat well - instead of just grabbing Micky D's chicken nuggets. (Which by the way - are my most guilty of pleasures and it is so NOT FAIR that they have been doing all these commericials about them!! Especially the one with the wedding cake made out of Chicken McNuggets...it's like my dirtiest fantasy come true!!). I digress.... so when I was away, I went to Panera to get a salad and ate light the rest of my travels.
I didn't excercise on Thursday or Friday - honestly I was kind of sore from jumping back in! But, I did bring my gym clothes on my trip and I forced myself to go to the gym at the hotel on Saturday before my flight. Only did a 1/2 hour but it's better than nothing!!! Sunday, I did nada but tonight I went to the gym..... 25 minutes on the spinning bike - 25 minutes strenght training - 25 minutes yoga. Definitely burned some calories there. This week will be tight for working out too....so busy. But I am trying to schedule my work out time too. Got to do it!!
While I was in Bowling Green I went to a Goodwill where I found a book on detoxing and another book by the dude who apparently is behind Oprah's weight loss/lifestyle. I saw it before and kind of wanted to get it so I was thrilled I was able to pick it up for $2!! I will let you know if it has any pearls of wisdom.
Day 8. 177.5 Pounds.
Sunday, December 7, 2008
Saturday - not so good. Today - much better
Saturday; I slept in until about 11:30 which is super late for me, but I think I needed the rest. I had some eggs, potatoes, and toast for brunch. I had some yogurt with honey later in the day, so far not so bad. But then I went to Arin and Andreas where Andrea and Desiree made a feast of all things so bad that they are so good, we had clams casino and steamers that I drenched in butter, steak in bleu cheese fondue and bread, olives, and peppers stuffed with cheese and salami. whoops. but it was so good. Our drinks were relatively healthy with vodka tonics, so that's good. Topped off with 3 pieces of chocolate. ugh...
So Sat def motivated to do better today. I had a shredded wheat with soy milk & bananas for breakfast with coffee. I have drank about 8 glasses of water already; trying to detox a bit, and for lunch I am having white bean salad with every vegetable I can find in my house with a cup of green tea. After this post I am making a new playlist and hitting the gym.
This week I am going to try to "schedule" my workouts and I am going to try to do mornings. I think this will free me up more in the evenings and lessen my stress about working out and hopefully make for good beginnings; its going to be hard, its going to be dark. But I am going to try to be in bed by 11:00 pm each night and workout from 6:45am-7:30am in the morning.
Wish me luck.
K
Friday, December 5, 2008
Diet Tip - Eat More
Best Diet Tip No. 2: Think about what you can add to your diet, not what you should take away.
Start by focusing on getting the recommended 5-9 servings of fruits and vegetables each day.
"It sounds like a lot, but it is well worth it, because at the same time you are meeting your fiber goals and feeling more satisfied from the volume of food," says chef Laura Pansiero, RD.
You're also less likely to overeat because fruits and vegetables displace fat in the diet. And that's not to mention the health benefits of fruits and vegetables. More than 200 studies have documented the disease-preventing qualities of phytochemicals found in produce, says Pansiero.
Her suggestion for getting more: Work vegetables into meals instead of just serving them as sides on a plate.
"I love to take seasonal vegetables and make stir-fries, frittatas, risotto, pilafs, soups, or layer on sandwiches," Pansiero says. "It is so easy to buy a variety of vegetables and incorporate them into dishes."
Getting There
Wednesday night I went to the Arden and then had a light dinner afterwards; I shared a flatbread pizza (w goat cheese) and a salad and had water, no wine or beer, so that was decent.
I did okay yesterday, I had oatmeal for breakfast with coffee, and then waited way too long for lunch, like 3:00pm, and so what I thought was piece of lasagna from my freezer actually was a hunk of meatloaf, so I had 1/2 of my meatloaf hunk and a bowl of yogurt with some fruit and honey. Total Sullivan lunch. : ) I redeemed myself with dinner, grilled chicken, roasted potatoes and string beans.
I haven't done the scale yet, I think I am going to wait till Monday and do it weekly, plus that way I will get to the gym over the weekend.
I think one cup of hot cocoa a day is a great way to satisfy your sweet tooth with relatively low calories, as long as you pass on marshmallows and half and half, I say enjoy it, it usually my dessert.
Thursday, December 4, 2008
Day 4. Holding Steady... Along with my Weight.
Wednesday, December 3, 2008
Day 3. On Track, Sort Of.
Day Three - Downsizing
Went to a friends for dinner last night so I didn't have complete control of what I was consuming - beef brisket with some fingerling potatoes. I figure we can't completely deny ourselves or else we won't be successful, right? I guess it's all about making the right choices. For example: today I was at a meeting where a tray of divine looking sweets were passed to me...normally, I would have grabbed something completely decadent but instead I just grabbed a small little mini poppy seed muffin type thing. So in other words, I am downsizing. Maybe I should embrace this philosophy and have one glass of wine rather than two from now one.
Day Two Recap / Day Three
Today I'm doing okay, fat free muffin and yogurt w/ fresh berries for breakfast (thank you Cultural Alliance catered breakfast) and for lunch I'm having a salad with some salmon and low fat ginger dressing and lots of water.
This blog is totally keeping me honest.
Calling all Playlists
Of course, I don't have my ipod with me now, but I will try to post some workout ones that I have created, but would love to hear what gets you moving as well, I think I have overplayed Sexy Back and need some new tunes!
Tuesday, December 2, 2008
Day Two. The Day of the Hot Chocolate Fiesta.
Day Two
Dude, I lost 6 lbs!!
I think the scale I hopped on at my friends house was wrong. I weighed myself at the scale at home and at work today where I found that I really weigh 185.2 (or 84.2 kilograms).
Done pretty good today! Trying to drink way more water...only one cup of coffee....but now I have to pee all the time! Maybe I should get some adult diapers? Ha ha. I have been thinking about trying to do the Master Cleanse (http://themastercleanse.org/) but not sure if I want to put myself through that kind of hell. I don't know, I just feel like I need to clean my shit out, ya know. I have also heard that Dr. Natura (http://www.drnatura.com/) is a way to go....some people swear by it. If you want to really get grossed out - check out the Picture Gallery!!!!
Going back to the gym tonight. Unfortunately, I do not like the trainer who is on tonight but I am not going to let her get my freaking way!!!!
Monday, December 1, 2008
Flo's clocking in at 191!
My big hairy audacious goal: 30-40 lbs (150lbs would put me at my ideal weight)
When: As soon as freaking possible without jeopardizing my sanity.
So - today....did pretty well I think for the first day. Except for the six cups of coffee and two glasses of wine! No denying that I am a wino! I bet if I cut that out - it would cut quite a few calories. Other than that.... I actually ate the recommended portion size for my trader joe's lentil soup! that was hard. been munching on raw almonds and a cheese stick. for dinner - baked chicken and spinach. and, god damn i am hungry.
i too went to the gym where i soundly got my ass kicked. one good thing about Fusion is that they give great workout! 30 minutes on the spinning bike - 25 minutes strength training - and 20 minutes yoga. flo will hurt tomorrow.
we will prevail ladies! we will prevail!!
perhaps we should schedule a nice long healthy walk on Sunday if the weather is not shitty.
Kendra's Goal
Day one - 195lbs
Today I passed on eating a peanut butter cookie, even though I really wanted it. I also did 30 mins of strength training and 30 mins of cardio tonight and my shirt was soaked; that felt kinda good. I had a big salad for dinner and a little bit of pasta with some shrimp.
skinny here I come.
Day One. 180 lbs.
I spent about 50 minutes at the gym tonight for the first time in a long time. Sadly, the treadmill nearly kicked my ass. What used to be pretty easy made me want to quit. Luckily an episode of Law and Order helped me keep my eyes off of the clock. Also, since Lauren convinced me that shaving my cooter was a good idea I had to deal with some chafing. I moved to the bike after 30 minutes where at least my ass-cheeks couldn't rub together.
Snapshot
Goal: 160 in 2 months
Today: 180
Gym: 50 minutes (with 20 pushups and some stretching this morning)
Eating: No chocolate, healthy for all three meals. However, drank more coffee than necessary and may fly out of my chair.
Until Tomorrow,
Arin
Skinny Blog
So I'm going to blog about it here, mostly because my sister Mary has inspired me, but also because I think the public shaming will help me stay on track. So here it is. The Skinny Blog. I'm joined here by Kendra and Flo. Together we'll be some skinny bitches in the city of brotherly love.
-a